Friday Pull Preview 19

Friday graphic

9,500 lb Limited Pro Stock Tractors

The competition for the Friday night 9,500 lb. Limited Pro Stock Tractors is stacked. Former Grand Champion Justin Wagler with Real Deere had an excellent season, winning both the Lucas Oil PPL Midwest and Lucas Oil PPL Silver series. Another driver coming off an outstanding season is David Novack driving The Mean Farmer who finished first in the Outlaw Truck and Truck Pulling Association.

Garrett Boldery with Smoke Fever is another one to watch. He won the NTPA Region II and the Hoosier State Tractor Pullers Association. Other regional winners include Brian Buford (Lucas Oil PPL Western Series), Josh Wayne Lee (Ohio State Tractor Pulling Association), Matt Lindrom (United Pullers of Minnesota), Seth Novak (Nebraska Bush Pullers), Michael Rogier (Illinois Tractor Pulling Association), Roger Scalzo (Wisconsin Tractor Pulling Association), Bill Smith (Badger State) and Garry Witty (Mid South Region). With a roster this loaded, it’s anyone guess who will win.


6,200lb 2WD Super Modified Trucks

With six past Grand Champions vying for only four spots in the finals, this 6,200 lb. 2WD Super Modified Trucks class is a battleground. This session includes all three women champions in Championship Tractor Pull history – Ashley Corzine (2018) with Shell Rotella Second Degree, Mendi Nelson (2016) driving Lil’ Whip and the original female Grand Champion Lisa Tatum (2003) behind the wheel of Full Throttle.

Representing the male Grand Champions, Jim Mattingly with Thor (2017), Jessie Petro’s Buckeye Hauler (2010) and Donnie Sullivan (1998) driving All In.

They’ll compete against circuit champions like Dr. Tim Messer driving Thin Blue Line who won the Lucas Oil PPL Champions League and John Mumma with Rhino Ag the Lucas Oil Midwest Region champion.
Editor’s Note: John Mumma unexpectedly passed away prior to the farm show. He will be great missed by everyone here and in the pulling community. We are leaving the preview unedited because we want to recognize his accomplishments. 


8,200lb Super Stock Tractors

The 2018 runner-up and third place finisher compete during the Friday night 8,200 lb. Super Stock Tractors class. After coming close, both are fighting for a spot in Saturday’s finals where they can prove themselves championship material. Runner-up Braden Shramek driving Legacy, a young-gun junior in college, didn’t compete in a points race last year. Travis Schlabach with Bone Twister finished third in both the Championship Tractor Pull and the NTPA Grand Nationals. Schlabach is a past Grand Champion, winning in 2015.

Three former Grand Champions provide fierce competition. Brandon Hunt and Liv’n A Dream won in 2011. Colin Ross driving Triple Bypass was the 2017 Grand Champion. Last year he placed second in the NTPA Grand Nationals point race. Mile Beck with his tractor High Tech Redneck rounds out the past champions. Another puller to watch is Steve Blagrave behind the wheel of Red Horse. Blagrave won the NTPA Grand Nationals.


10,200lb Pro Stock Tractors

Two former 10,200 lb. Pro Stock Tractor Grand Champions will try to punch their ticket to the Saturday finals. Both have won twice and are trying the often-attempted and rarely achieved three-peat title. Mike Linder driving Linder Brothers won in 2001 and 2012. Kevin Schmucker behind the wheel of Git-Er-Dun won in 2006 and 2016. Winning three titles on the fabled Freedom Hall dirt is difficult and both drivers are ready for the challenge.

Other talented drivers to watch out for, Sam Brown driving Green with Envy, the winner of the Lucas Oil PPL Midwest points race and Rob Russell with Work Horse, who won a Grand Champion title in a different class.